Edwin Hancock 教授报告会

发表日期:2019-07-10 供稿:

Edwin Hancock 教授报告会

报告题目Pattern Recognition Journal

报告人:Edwin Hancock教授(University of York




Pattern Recognition was first published in 1968. The first Editor-in-Chief was Robert Ledley, Professor of Biophysics at Georgetown University, Washington. With the publisher Robert Maxwell, Ledley negotiated the publication of a raft of journals in the area of Biomedical Computing, including Pattern Recognition. Ledley was a distinguished scientist who invented the wholebody CT scanner, pioneered optical character recognition and was a winner of the National Medal of Technology and a member of the National Inventors Hall of Fame in the USA. He was succeeded by Ching Suen as EiC in 2008 and by myself in 2016. Since its foundation the journal has thrived with growing interest in the field of Pattern Recognition, and in particular recently with the rapid explosion of interest in deep learning. We now have approaching 2500 submissions per year, an editorial board of over 100 associate editors and publish some 400 papers per year. In 2019 we achieved our highest impact factor to date of 5.898. In this talk I will describe some of the history of the journal, present statistics concerning its performance, and describe our editorial policies for selecting high quality papers in the field of pattern recognition.










Edwin R. Hancock holds a BSc degree in physics (1977), a PhD degree in high-energy physics (1981) and a D.Sc. degree (2008) from the University of Durham, and a doctorate Honoris Causa from the University of Alicante in 2015. From 1981-1991 he worked as a researcher in the fields of high-energy nuclear physics and pattern recognition at the Rutherford-Appleton Laboratory (now the Central Research Laboratory of the Research Councils). During this period, he worked on high energy physics experiments at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) providing the first measurements of charmed particle lifetimes. He also held adjunct teaching posts at the University of Surrey and the Open University. In 1991, he moved to the University of York as a lecturer in the Department of Computer Science, where he has held a chair in Computer Vision since 1998. He leads a group of some 25 faculty, research staff, and PhD students working in the areas of computer vision and pattern recognition. His main research interests are in the use of optimization and probabilistic methods for high and intermediate level vision. He is also interested in the methodology of structural and statistical and pattern recognition. He is currently working on graph matching, shape-from-X, image databases, and statistical learning theory. His work has found applications in areas such as radar terrain analysis, seismic section analysis, remote sensing, and medical imaging. He has published about 185 journal papers and 650 refereed conference publications. He was awarded the Pattern Recognition Society medal in 1991 and an outstanding paper award in 1997 by the journal Pattern Recognition. He has also received best paper prizes at CAIP 2001, ACCV 2002, ICPR 2006, BMVC 2007 and ICIAP in 2009 and 2015. In 2009 he was awarded a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award. In 1998, he became a fellow of the International Association for Pattern Recognition. He is also a fellow of the Institute of Physics, the Institute of Engineering and Technology, and the British Computer Society. In 2016 he became a fellow of the IEEE and was named Distinguished Fellow by the British Machine Vision Association. In 2018 he received the Pierre Devijver Award from the IAPR. He is currently Editor-in-Chief of the journal Pattern Recognition, and was founding Editor-in-Chief of IET Computer Vision from 2006 until 2012.  He has also been a member of the editorial boards of the journals IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Pattern Recognition, Computer Vision and Image Understanding, Image and Vision Computing, and the International Journal of Complex Networks. He has been Conference Chair for BMVC in 1994 and Programme Chair in 2016, Track Chair for ICPR in 2004 and 2016 and Area Chair at ECCV 2006 and CVPR in  2008 and 2014, and in 1997 established the EMMCVPR workshop series. He was a Governing Board Member of the IAPR from 2006 to 2016, and was Second Vice President of the Association (2016-2018).

win Hancock 教授报告会.docx